2023 Scholarship Winners

This year we received 529 scholarship entries across three categories that included Creative Writing Pieces, Vlogs and Posters. We continue to be impressed by the quality and creativity of the entries and this year was no different!

This year was also the first year of our new Sustainability Abroad Scholarship. This scholarship combines two crucial aspects of education: sustainability and global experiences. At a time when travel is now more accessible than ever, this scholarship recognises the importance of promoting sustainable practices and environmental consciousness while fostering cultural understanding and international study experiences. It was fantastic to see how students are considering the repercussions of their actions and how their decisions are contributing to making travel more sustainable and viable for the future.

We are pleased to announce the winners for the 2023 scholarships and invite you to enjoy their winning entries. Each winner will receive a £500 scholarship to use towards their study abroad experience.

Congratulations to our 2023 BUTEX Scholarship Winners!

Creative Writing Piece

  • Zoe Dahse – University College London, UK to Universidad Complutense de Madrid, Spain
  • Owen Hiscock – De Montfort University, UK to Kwansei Gakuin University, Japan
  • Shihara Silva – University of Sydney, Australia to University of Sussex, UK


  • Nwomiko Diugwu – University of Reading, UK to Maastricht University, Netherlands


  • Abigail Herron – University of Leeds, UK to Jean Moulin University, Lyon, France
  • Julian Boulanger – University of York, UK to Haleon, Germany
  • Ryan Jepson – University of New South Wales, Australia to University of Bristol, UK
  • Libby Lockhart – University of Otago, New Zealand to University of Bristol, UK

Tony Emmerson Award

The Tony Emmerson Award is a special award in honour of our late Treasurer. This scholarship is awarded in the event of an American Studies student being successful in the competition and we are pleased to share that we have a deserving winner this year;

  • Xavi Goodall – University of Manchester, UK to Rutgers, State University of New Jersey, United States


Payment confirmed

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo.